Operating without a License in Wisconsin

Operating Without a License

Operating without a license is usually an offense where a person receives a ticket for driving while failing to hold a valid license. There are a few exceptions where it might be legal to operate without a license, so it is important to consult with an attorney before making any legal moves.

Penalties of Operating Without a License

There are several consequences you could face if you are convicted of operating without a license. Generally, you could face a forfeiture of up to $200. If you receive two such convictions within three years, you could be imprisoned for up to 30 days in jail and face a fine of up to $500. If you receive three or more convictions within three years, you could face up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

If you are charged with operating without a license and you injure a person, the penalties increase. You might have to pay a fine ranging from $5,000 to $7,500. Depending on the circumstances, you might also be found guilty of a Class I felony, punishable by up to three years and six months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

If you operate without a valid license and cause the death of another, you might have to pay between $7,500 and $10,000. You could also be found guilty of a Class H felony, punishable by up to six years of prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

How We Can Help

Even though the penalties associated with operating without a license are frightening, there is still hope for your case. The team at Tracey Wood & Associates knows how to fight to protect your rights at every step of your case. Contact us today to learn more.  

Submit a Case Evaluation Form Below For Help

Helpful Videos

Click Here To Browse Our Video Library

Watch Here

Ask Tracey A Question

Send Us Your Questions Today!

Get Started Now

Wisconsin Criminal Fact Guide

Download Our Guide & Audio Questions

Listen Now