Question: What is the age of consent in Wisconsin?

Answer: Under Wisconsin law, the age of consent to engage in any sexual activity is 18. Sexual activity with anyone under the age of 18 is a crime and the person could be charged with sexual assault of a child. There are different charges a person could face for having sexual activity with a child, and it’s generally based on the child’s age.

If the child is 16 or 17 years old, a person having sexual contact with them could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by nine months in jail and a $10,000 fine. If the minor is under 16 years old, a person having sexual contact with them can be charged with a felony and may face up to 40 years in prison. If the child is under 13 years old and suffers great bodily harm, a person may face up to life in prison.

Return to Video Library

Helpful Videos

Click Here To Browse Our Video Library

Watch Here

Ask Tracey A Question

Send Us Your Questions Today!

Get Started Now

Wisconsin Criminal Fact Guide

Download Our Guide & Audio Questions

Listen Now