Question: What property crimes are misdemeanors under Wisconsin law?

Answer: There are quite a number of property crimes that can be charged as misdemeanors in Wisconsin. In general, a good rule of thumb is that if the value of the property that is lost or damaged is less than $2,500—$2,500 or less—it is going to be a misdemeanor. There are some specific provisions that do not follow that general rule, but for the majority of property crime, if there’s a damage or loss of $2,500 or less, it’s going to be a misdemeanor. But if it’s more than that, it will be a felony, and they have three different basic levels of felony property crimes in Wisconsin.

Return to Video Library

Helpful Videos

Click Here To Browse Our Video Library

Watch Here

Ask Tracey A Question

Send Us Your Questions Today!

Get Started Now

Wisconsin Criminal Fact Guide

Download Our Guide & Audio Questions

Listen Now