Madison, Wisconsin Sexual Assault Against a Minor

Wisconsin law asserts that minors are unable to give consent to sexual acts. They are legally incapable of doing so, thus any act of a sexual nature involving a minor is against the law. That said, if you are accused of these crimes, you are innocent until proven guilty. You have the right to a fair trial.

What are the charges associated with sex crimes against a minor (child)?

There are a number of different types of charges for sex crimes against a minor in Wisconsin including sexual assault, sexual exploitation, indecent exposure, and soliciting a child for prostitution, among others. Sexual assault charges vary by degrees based on the age of the victim:

  • • Minor aged 12 or less with injuries – First-degree sexual assault, Class A felony.
  • • Minor aged 11 or less with no injuries or minor aged 12 to 15 by use of threat of force or violence– First-degree sexual assault, Class B felony.
  • • Minor aged 12 to 15 – Second-degree sexual assault, Class C felony.
  • • If the defendant is under 19 and the child is 15 or older, this is charged as a Class A misdemeanor
  • • Minor aged 16 or older – Class A misdemeanor.

 

What are the punishments for sex crimes against a minor in Wisconsin?

Class A felonies carry a punishment of a life sentence. Class B felonies carry a punishment of as much as 60 years in prison. Class C felonies are punishable by up to 40 years in prison and/or up to $100,000 in fines. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to nine months in prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.

If you stand accused of a sex crime against a minor, you are entitled to a defense attorney who has the experience and understanding to defend your case. Reach out to the lawyers at Tracey Wood and Associates today to discuss the charges against you.

 

Call (608) 490-5779 or Schedule a Free Case Evaluation Online

Contact Us

Scroll Back to Top
24-Hour Support